© 2021 Interlochen
News and Classical Music from Northern Michigan
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical Conversations

In Studio A with the Telegraph Quartet 2021

Telegraph Quartet.jpg

The Telegraph String Quartet recently made its third visit to IPR's Studio A since 2018.

Telegraph baby.jpg
How the Telegraph Quartet announced that spouses and members Joseph and Pei-Ling were expecting a baby

The ensemble's members are violinists Eric Chin and Joseph Maile, violist Pei-Ling Lin and cellist Jeremiah Shaw.

Violist Craig Bate is subbing for Pei-Ling Lin this summer, since she is eight months pregnant.

Lin's husband, Telegraph violinist Joseph Maile, said they're calling the baby their "season opener" since he's due in the first week of September.

The Telegraph Quartet performed movements from quartets by Maurice Ravel and Grażyna Bacewicz in Studio A.

They're at Interlochen Center for the Arts this week serving as the Artists-in-Residence for this summer's Adult Chamber Music Camp.

In this context, they're working with adult amateur students. Maile said they have different goals for adult amateurs compared to younger pre-professional students: "With adults, it's about opening up doors of what they can appreciate on their instruments and also in the concert hall."

Unlike some string quartets where one person always plays first violin and another person always plays second violin, Maile explained that he and Chin switch off playing first violin in the ensemble.

He says they usually determine who will play which part by "gut feel," although sometimes it depends on whose tone is more suited to a particular piece.

Telegraph candid.jpg
The Telegraph Quartet records in IPR's Studio A

The exception is Beethoven, though. "That's when we sort it out systematically who's going to play the parts," Maile explained. "It's sixteen quartets, and we each wanted to get our 'bids' in for what we particularly liked."

"Good thing there are an even number of them," he said.

Repertoire performed
Maurice Ravel, String Quartet: I. Allegro moderato. Très doux

Grażyna Bacewicz, String Quartet no. 4: II. Andante

Stefan Wiebe engineered this edition of Studio A.