© 2024 Interlochen
CLASSICAL IPR | 88.7 FM Interlochen | 94.7 FM Traverse City | 88.5 FM Mackinaw City IPR NEWS | 91.5 FM Traverse City | 90.1 FM Harbor Springs/Petoskey | 89.7 FM Manistee/Ludington
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

3 Interlochen students receive prestigious young artist award

Interlochen Arts Academy recipients of From the Top scholarship
Interlochen Arts Academy students Joaquín Chávez, Madelyn Zoller and Edwin Osorio are among the 2023 recipients of the Jack Kent Cooke Young Artist Award

From the Top has announced the latest recipients of the Jack Kent Cooke Young Artist Award. Three of the winners are current Interlochen students.

From the Top has announced ten new recipients of its Jack Kent Cooke Young Artist Award.

Classical musicians between the ages of 8 and 18 are eligible for this award.

Three of this year's winners are current Interlochen Arts Academy students.

Joaquín Chávez is a clarinetist originally from Callao, Peru. He studies with Bryan Conger at Interlochen Arts Academy.

Chávez also attended Interlochen Arts Camp in 2021 and was featured in IPR's Studio A.

Edwin Osorio is a trombonist from Ecorse, Mich. He studies with Tom Riccobono at Interlochen Arts Academy.

Madelyn Zoller is a flutist from Hamilton, OH. She studies with Nancy Stagnitta at Interlochen Arts Academy.

Jack Kent Cooke Young Artists receive up to $10,000 toward the cost of their music studies.

They also participate in From the Top’s Learning and Media Lab Fellowship to hone their skills in content creation and audience engagement.

All Jack Kent Cooke Young Artists are also featured on From the Top, the weekly radio program and podcast.

Interlochen Public Radio will announce the appearances of these young artists when their respective episodes of the show air.

Past Interlochen students who were also Jack Kent Cooke Young Artists include violist Val Serrano, flutist Adam Sadberry and cellist Esther Chae, as well as flutist Mei Stone and oboist David Norville, both members of IPR's Sound Garden Quintet.

Dr. Amanda Sewell is IPR's music director.