Interlochen Arts Academy student composer Nathaniel Heyder in conversation

May 14, 2017

Interlochen Arts Academy senior Nathaniel Heyder

  Interlochen Arts Academy senior Nathaniel Heyder was recently selected as a winner of the 2017 NextNotes Competition. NextNotes is a national competition hosted by the American Composers Forum. Heyder was one of six winners chosen from over 130 submissions. Heyder studies composition with Cynthia Van Maanen at Interlochen Arts Academy. He plans to attend the Cleveland Institute of Music this fall.


He stopped by Interlochen Public Radio to discuss his music and the role his friends play in his compositional process. He won the NextNotes competition with a piece called "Septet for Piano and Winds." He also discussed a more recent composition called "Continuance" that is scored for violin, cello, bass, clarinet (bass clarinet), piano, and marimba (vibraphone). "Continuance" will be performed on May 24 as part of the end-of-year Festival at Interlochen.


The complete interview and recordings of both pieces are available below.




Nathaniel Heyder, "Septet for Piano and Winds"

Flute: Mei Stone
Oboe: David Norville
Clarinet: Mason Sangster
Bass Clarinet: Seung Min Han (Sara)
Bassoon: Corbin Krebs
Horn: AllenJade Carter
Piano: Quinton Nennig



Nathaniel Heyder, "Continuance"  

Clarinet/Bass Clarinet: Shihao Zhu (Hugh)
Violin: Nathaniel Heyder
Cello: Felix Hughes
Bass: Ryan Avila
Marimba/Vibraphone: Andre DeGrenier
Piano: Steven Naylor