© 2024 Interlochen
CLASSICAL IPR | 88.7 FM Interlochen | 94.7 FM Traverse City | 88.5 FM Mackinaw City IPR NEWS | 91.5 FM Traverse City | 90.1 FM Harbor Springs/Petoskey | 89.7 FM Manistee/Ludington
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Kodak Quartet blooms in IPR's Sound Garden

Edgar Donati, Martin Noh, Daniel Spink and Blake Kitayama of the Kodak Quartet are in residence as part of IPR's Sound Garden Project.

All around northern Michigan, amidst the summer cacophony of wineries, beaches, bridges and food trucks, a bustling musical initiative is taking root.

The Sound Garden Project’s mission is to plant classical music in unexpected places as it reimagines a 21st-century performance experience.

Meet the musicians of the Kodak Quartet — they're the newest group to join Classical IPR as part of this summer's IPR Sound Garden Project.

"This afternoon we're going to be going to a burger joint to play for some people, [and then] a hardware store. We'll be playing at The Little Fleet later in the week. And we're super excited for the food trucks and the winery," violinist Martin Noh said.

Kodak Quartet formed in Rochester, New York while attending the Eastman School of Music and are currently based in New York, NY. The ensemble has performed with GRAMMY-winning artists Time for Three, Kronos Quartet, and JACK Quartet.

Recently, the ensemble visited IPR's Studio A to perform some music and talk to host Kate Botello about the Sound Garden venues, pop-up concerts and performances ahead.

Beyond the immediate pleasure it brings, planting classical music in unexpected places holds profound social implications.

"We share music with them and then we ask them what they think about the music," said Noh. "They get to tell us what it reminds them of and the one-on-one is much more personal."

The Kodak's Quartet's residency runs through July 25 with five total performances and many pop-up concerts booked this summer.

Music performed in Studio A

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, String Quartet No. 15 in D minor K. 421, Mvt. I. Allegro moderato

Erich Wolfgang Korngold, String Quartet No. 2 in E-flat major Op. 26, Mvt. II. Intermezzo. Allegretto con moto

The members of the Kodak Quartet are Edgar Donati (violin), Martin Noh (violin), Daniel Spink (viola) and Blake Kitayama (cello).

Interlochen Public Radio is proud to present the Kodak Quartet as part of IPR’s Sound Garden Project, which plants classical music in unexpected places.

Matthew Schlomer is the Sound Garden Project's Artistic Director.

This edition of Studio A was engineered by Michael Culler with help from Kris Twadell.

Scott Clemens is Classical IPR's Digital Content Producer and host of Afternoon Classical.