Local classical musicians perform at IPR open mic night

Mar 12, 2019

Double reeds, guitars, cellos, recorders, violas, harp, and more instruments all made an appearance in downtown Traverse City on Saturday.

Ten acts comprised of over 20 local musicians performed short classical music selections for a packed house at Horizon Books in Traverse City.  View the slideshow for images of all performers. The event was emceed by Interlochen Public Radio's Amanda Sewell.

Audience members at Horizon Books in Traverse City

The performers represented a diverse range of ages and experience levels ranging from high school students, community members and established regional ensembles such as Manitou Winds.

Some performers were also affiliated with regional ensembles and organizations such as Traverse Symphony Orchestra, Dorothy Gerber Strings Program, Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra, Traverse City Area Public Schools and Interlochen Arts Academy. Two Piano Performance majors from Central Michigan University also travelled from Mount Pleasant to perform at the event.

The open mic was a first for Interlochen Public Radio as we continue to support the area's dynamic music community and amplify the voices of classical musicians. IPR hopes to repeat the event in the near future and welcomes feedback from the community on possible venues, formats, and musicians who may be interested in performing.

Emcee Amanda Sewell, IPR classical music host

Final program

Manitou Winds: Natalie Fraser from A Suite of Cape Breton Tunes (J. T. McKinney) and Allegro from First Flight (Laura Hood)

Malia Dickinson, Adelaide Dalio, and Kim Teachout: Meditation from Thais (Massenet) and Andante from Viola Concerto in G major (Telemann)

Deniza Derdovski: Ballade no. 3 (Chopin)

Carter Stark: Ständchen (Schubert, arr. Mertz)

Bobby Bush: Prelude from Cello Suite no. 1 (Bach)

Blaize Oswald: Bourree from Lute Suite in E minor (Bach)

Peter Deneen: 3 Fantasies (Banchieri)

Lynn Hansen, Michael Beery, Deanna Erwin, Drew Hinderer, Chas Helge, Elizabeth Bert, Steve Larson, and Sam Boase-Miller: Toy Symphony (L. Mozart)

Michael Sipkoski: Suite no. 1 (Yradier); Prelude from Cello Suite no. 1 (Bach)

Abigail Mullis: Impromptu no. 1 in A-flat major (Chopin)

Chas Helge, Elizabeth Bert, Sam Boase-Miller, and Steve Larson: Requiem (David Popper)