Classical IPR in Concert: Interlochen Arts Academy students in Studio A

Aug 28, 2019

Interlochen Arts Academy cellist Esther Chae in IPR's Studio A (with collaborative pianist Ya-Ju Chuang)
Credit Amanda Sewell

During the 2018-19 academic year, Classical IPR welcomed more than 50 student performers in Studio A. This week on Classical IPR in Concert, we feature many of those student performances.

Listen Friday at 8 p.m., Sunday at 12 p.m. or any time below.

For a complete list of archived Studio A performances and interviews, click here

Enle Wu, piano
Junior, student of TJ Lymenstull
Mozart, Piano Sonata in F major K. 332

Esther Chae, cello with pianist Ya-Ju Chuang
Junior, student of Patrick Owen
Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Pezzo capriccioso

Interlochen Arts Academy Chamber Singers, conducted by John Bragle
Jaako Mäntyjärvi, Double, Double, Toil and Trouble

Muying Chen, piano
Senior, student of Michael Coonrod
Sergei Prokofiev, Montagues and Capulets from Romeo and Juliet

Jakob Schoenfeld, marimba
Senior, student of Keith Aleo
Harold Arlen, arr. Robert Oetomo, Over the Rainbow

JunMing Wen, tuba with pianist Ya-Ju Chuang
Senior, student of Tom Riccobono
Ralph Vaughan Williams, Tuba Concerto

Jonathan Bass, piano
Senior, student of Michael Coonrod and Bill Sears
Chopin, Scherzo no. 3

Angela Scates, oboe
Senior, student of Dan Stolper and Dane Philipsen
Gilles Silvestrini, "L'Hôtel des roches noires. Trouville"

TianQi “Angel” Peng, piano
Freshman, student of TJ Lymenstull
Beethoven, Piano Sonata op. 22 in B-flat major (first movement)

Victoria Schmidt, soprano with pianist Susan Snyder
Senior, student of Laura Osgood Brown
Pauline Viardot, Je viens te rendre l’esperance

Daniel Solowey, clarinet with pianist Susan Snyder
Senior, student of Bryan Conger
Johannes Brahms, Clarinet sonata in F minor, op. 120 no. 1

Zikuan “Harvard” Zhao, piano
Sophomore, student of TJ Lymenstull and Sandra Shapiro
Liszt, Transcendental Etude no. 11

Two student jazz combos with guest artist Quiana Lynell; students of Bill Sears
Jazz Combo 1, performing "After You've Gone" with Quiana Lynell: Aaron Snyder, saxophone; Camilla Carvalho, bass; Jonathan Bass, piano; Sophia Bondi, drums
Jazz Combo 2, performing "You Hit the Spot" with Quiana Lynell: Joseph St. Jules, saxophone; Lance Gulley, bass; Shuto Nakagawa, piano; Kyle Skarshaug, drums

Student Cello Choir, conducted by Matthew Schlomer
Students of Patrick Owen
Julius Klengel, Hymnus

Emily Amos, organ
Senior, student of Tom Bara
Maurice Durufle's "Prelude and Fugue on the Name Alain"