ASCAP Foundation names 2018 Morton Gould Young Composer Award winners

Apr 18, 2018

The ASCAP Foundation has announced the 2018 recipients of the Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. This award is given to composers of concert music who are under the age of 30. 

The winners, selected from over 500 submissions, are (listed by current place of residence and place of origin; winners under 18 are listed only by state of residents): Bo Li of Kansas City, MO (Chang Chun, China); Oren Boneh of Oakland, CA (Denver, Colorado); Theophilus Chandler of Houston, TX (Hillsborough, NC); Frazar P. Henry of Florida; Molly Joyce of Pittsburgh, PA; Mayumi Kimura Meguro of Brooklyn, NY (Mexico City, Mexico);  Alexis C. Lamb of Dekalb, IL (Denver, CO); Piyawat Louilarpprasert of Ithaca, NY (Bangkok, Thailand); Charles Meenaghan of California; Shashaank Narayanan of New Jersey; Charles Peck of Philadelphia, PA (Norristown, PA); Peter Shin of Kansas City, MO;  Aferdian Stephens of Jersey City, NJ (Bayonne, NJ); Tina Tallon of San Diego, CA (Baltimore, MD); Felipe Tovar-Henao of Bloomington, IN (Manizales, Caldas, Colombia); Max Vinetz of New Haven, CT (San Diego, CA); and Alex Weiser of New York, NY.

This annual award was dedicated to the memory of composer Morton Gould following his death in 1996. Gould was president of ASCAP and the ASCAP foundation from 1986 to 1994. Click here for the press release about this year's award.

Click here to listen to "Hana o Tobashite," one of the winning pieces, composed by Mayumi Kimura Meguro